Burntwater Chief Chinle
Crystal Eyedazzler Ganado
Klagetoh New Lands Pictorial
Sandpainting Storm Teec Nos Pos
Tree of Life Two Grey Hills Wide Ruins
Yei Yaibichai


  Navajo Rugs

from A Guide To Navajo Rugs
The Chief "blanket" is the earliest established weaving style known. The name comes from the high status of those Pueblo and Plains people to whom the Navajos (who do not have chiefs) traded them.

A Chief blanket today is distinguished by its square shape and by its plain design in blue and red, black and white. When the four corners of a Chief are folded to meet at the center, the design is the same as when it is unfolded.

The basic patten has evolved over time, in four phases:

The first Chiefs were woven in plain stripes of blue, white, black, and brown.
During the second phase, when bayeta became available to replace brown, weavers also added short red bars to the design. Bayeta, from baize, is a red woolen cloth imported by the Spanish and unravelled by Navajo weavers to make yarn. The deep red color came from cochineal, a dye made from crushed insects.
Third phase Chiefs are the most popular today. They are a little more elaborate, with stepped triangles in addition to the stripes of the original Chiefs. Rose-colored wool is sometimes used instead of red.
Finally, in the fourth phase, the stripes have been subsumed into squares against a solid background. Fourth phase Chiefs are rarely woven today.
First Phase Second Phase Third Phase